top of page

August 15 - November 23, 2024

$199

Assistant Teaching in a Waldorf Early Childhood Classroom

About the Course

HYBRID COURSE


Assisting in a Waldorf Classroom is a unique task. At birth the child is not fully developed so it is our task to lead them into becoming a human being on the earth. The future of humanity depends on children receiving health-giving experiences in childhood, on children getting the opportunity to experience loving guidance that will in turn bring joy, wonder, reverence, and healthy development into children’s lives.


In this three session series we will explore child development, the young child as a sense being, the power of imitation, caregiving, rhythm, transitions, and the essential aspects of our curriculum. We will delve into the role of the assistant in partnering with the lead teacher to care for the children in front of them. Woven in will be experiential and artistic activities. Most of all we will address the questions that live for you in your work.

 

Each month you receive access to multiple recordings. These should be viewed prior to the live zoom sessions. During the live zoom sessions you will be invited to ask questions and go deeper into the topics covered in the videos


Video Drop Dates

August 12, 2024 - 1st Set of Videos released

October 2, 2023 -  2nd Set of Videos released

November 6, 2023 - 3rd Set of Videos released



Zoom Sessions - two sessions will be offered each month. Choose the time that is most convienent for you. ZOOM SESSIONS AREN'T RECORDED

ZOOM SESSION 1

September 27, 2024 7:15pm - 8:45pm Eastern (6:15pm - 7:45pm CT, 5:15pm - 6:45pm MT, 4:15pm - 5:45pm PT)

OR

September 28, 2024 10 am - 11:30am Eastern (9am - 10:30 CT, 8am - 9:30 MT, 7am - 8:30 PT)


ZOOM SESSION 2

October 18, 2024 7:15pm - 8:45pm Eastern (6:15pm - 7:45pm CT, 5:15pm - 6:45pm MT, 4:15pm - 5:45pm PT)

OR

October 19, 2024 -  10 am - 11:30am Eastern (9am - 10:30 CT, 8am - 9:30 MT, 7am - 8:30 PT)


ZOOM SESSION 3

November 22, 2024 7:15pm - 8:45pm Eastern (6:15pm - 7:45pm CT, 5:15pm - 6:45pm MT, 4:15pm - 5:45pm PT)

OR

November 23, 2024 -  10 am - 11:30am Eastern (9am - 10:30 CT, 8am - 9:30 MT, 7am - 8:30 PT)




Use code THREE+ if you are registering 3 or 4 people from your school for a price of $179/person


Use code FIVE+ if you are registering 5 or more people from your school for a price of $139/person


THERE WILL BE NO REFUNDS OR TRANSFERS

Your Instructor:

Katherine Scharff, Lisa Miccio, Hannah Graham

Katherine Scharff, Lisa Miccio, Hannah Graham

Katherine Scharff is the Director of Teacher Education at Sophia’s Hearth. She taught preschool and parent-child teacher at the Waldorf School of Saratoga, New York. She is also a a Simplicity Parenting Family Life Coach. She has completed the Sophia’s Hearth full Waldorf teacher education program and additional advanced training in the Pikler approach. With her background in nursing and specialized training in the anthroposophical approach to nursing, Katherine brings these skills to our teacher education students.

bottom of page